DSN-2024: Disrupt 24: Disruptive Ideas and New Interdisciplinary Results

Disrupt (Disruptive Ideas and New Interdisciplinary Results) is a recently introduced DSN track. The goal is to establish a forum to promote the discussion and early dissemination of highly innovative ideas and forward-looking research on dependability, including (but not limited to) interdisciplinary research that cross cuts dependability with application areas where safety, security, privacy, and computer systems resilience are primarily concerns.

Disrupt 24 will publish three kinds of papers:

Submissions and evaluation

Disrupt 24 papers are submitted via EasyChair: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=dsn2024disrupt2024. Submissions are limited to 4 pages + references in the IEEE Computer Society format and will be reviewed and evaluated according to the following criteria:

Authors are strongly recommended to take into account the above evaluation criteria when preparing the submission.

Accepted Disrupt 24 papers will be published in the supplementary volume of DSN proceedings. Given the emerging nature of the works published at Disrupt 24, and the size of the papers (4 pages + references), we anticipate that Disrupt 24 papers may lead to successful submissions of regular DSN papers in subsequent years.

Disrupt 24 papers are not:

Important dates (extended):

Feb. 04, 2024: Abstract Submission Deadline

Feb. 11, 2024: Paper Submission Deadline

Mar. 16 - 19, 2024: Author Rebuttal Period

Apr. 04, 2024: Notification to Authors

Note: While abstract submission is highly recommended, papers submitted by the deadline without prior abstract submission will also be considered.

Anonymization rules and review process

The Disrupt 24 program committee will perform double-blind reviewing of all submissions. Papers accompanied by nondisclosure agreement forms are not acceptable and will be rejected without review.

Disrupt 24 submissions must use the same anonymization rules and recommendations as for papers submitted to DSN main research track.

The rebuttal period happens after the papers have been reviewed, but prior to the Disrupt 24 program committee meeting. The reviews will be made available to the authors to provide a forum for responding to any factual errors in the reviews. Please note that this is NOT a forum to add any additional information on the paper, to submit an updated or revised paper, or to list changes the authors promise to include in the final version. Author responses will be made available to all PC members before the paper is discussed for selection in the Disrupt 24 PC meeting. Given their nature, comprehensive evaluation is not expected for Disrupt papers.

All accepted papers must be presented by one of the authors at the DSN conference.

Formatting Rules:

Disrupt 24 submissions must use the same formatting as for papers submitted to DSN main research track.

Open Science Policy

After papers are accepted, the authors are encouraged to make all research results accessible to the public and ensure, if possible, that empirical studies are reproducible. In particular, DSN actively supports the adoption of open source and open data principles, and encourages all authors to make their prototypes available to the research community and disclose collected data to increase reproducibility and replicability. Note that sharing research data is not mandatory for submission or acceptance.

Ethical considerations:

Submissions describing experiments with data derived from human subjects or presenting results that might have ethical considerations should discuss how ethical and potential legal concerns were addressed and disclose if an ethics review was conducted (e.g. by the author’s institutional ethics review boards if applicable). Also, if the paper reports a potentially high-impact vulnerability, the authors should discuss the steps they have taken or plan to address these vulnerabilities (e.g., by contacting the vendors/manufacturers). The same applies if the submission deals with personal identifiable information or other kinds of sensitive data (e.g., by following applicable privacy protection regulations and rules). The PC’s review process may examine the ethical soundness of the paper just as it examines the technical soundness. The Program Committee reserves the right to reject a submission if insufficient evidence was presented that significant ethical or relevant legal concerns were appropriately addressed.

Contact the program co-chairs if you have any questions.

Conflicts of Interest:

Authors and PC members are asked to declare potential conflicts during the paper submission and reviewing process. In particular, a conflict of interest must be declared under any of the following conditions: (1) anyone who shares an institutional affiliation with an author at the time of submission, (2) anyone the author has collaborated or published within the last two years, (3) anyone who was the advisor or advisee of an author, or (4) is a relative or close personal friend of the authors. For other forms of conflict and related questions, authors must explain the perceived conflict to the PC chairs.

Program committee members who have conflicts of interest with a paper, including program co-chairs, will be excluded from any discussion concerning the paper.

Submission policy for Program chairs and Organizing committee members:

To avoid potential bias, the Disrupt 24 Program Committee Co-Chairs are not allowed to (co)author any submission to the conference. There are no such restrictions for the PC members and other organizing committee members including the General Chairs since double blind anonymization rules and conflict of interest declaration and resolution procedures are enforced. We should emphasize that the DSN General chairs are not involved in any of the processes related to the technical program including the selection of the PC chairs and PC committee and the submission, reviewing and acceptance of papers.

Disrupt 2024 Chairs:

Eduardo Alchieri & Felicita Di Giandomenico

Program Committee:

  • Luciana Arantes, LIP6/INRIA, France
  • Alysson Bessani, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Andrea Ceccarelli, University of Florence, Italy
  • Lelio Di Martino, Bell Labs - Nokia, US
  • Sisi Duan, Tsinghua University, China
  • Elias Duarte, Federal University of Paraná, Brazil
  • Gernot Heiser, UNSW Sydney, Australia
  • Mohammad Kaaniche, LAAS-CNRS, France
  • Patrick P.C. Lee, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Fumio Machida, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  • Fatima Mattiello-Francisco, INPE, Brazil
  • Simin Nadjm-Tehrani, Linkoping University, Sweden
  • Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Northeastern University, US
  • Fabian Oboril, Intel, Germany
  • Karthik Pattabiraman, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Evgenia Smirni, College of William and Mary, US
  • Wilfried Steiner, TTTech, Austria
  • Timothy Tsai, Nvidia, US
  • Paulo Verissimo, KAUST, Saudi Arabia
  • Saman Zonouz, Georgia Institute of Technology, US
  • Powered by w3.css